Tuesday, 23 October, 2018

3 scientists share 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

03 Oct 2017, 15:06 ( 03 Oct, 2017)

DF-Xinhua Report
Goran K. Hansson (Bottom C), Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, speaks at a press conference in Stockholm, Sweden, on Oct. 3, 2017. Photo Xinhua.

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics are shared by three scientists, announced the Royal Academy of Sciences in Stockholm on Tuesday.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 was divided, with one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves."

Olga Botner, member of the Nobel Physics Committee at the press conference explained that, "We know the gravitational waves existed, but it's the first time to find them."

It is "a milestone, opening a window to the unknown universe. A dawn for the gravitational wave astronomy," she added.

In the press conference telephone interview, Rainer Weiss said he felt "pretty wonderful" at the news, and he praised the dedicated works many scientists made for decades."

"I am very excited that it worked out in the end. It was wonderful experience," said Weiss, adding that the discovery "have added new knowledges and will open a new science in understanding our universe." 

Contact Us