Monday, 19 November, 2018

Final Draw for 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia

Argentina, Iceland, Croatia in WC Group of Death

01 Dec 2017, 20:32 ( 11 Months ago)

DF-Xinhua Report
The result of the draw is shown on the screen during the Final Draw of the FIFA World Cup 2018 at the Kremlin Palace in Moscow, capital of Russia, Dec. 1, 2017. Photo Xinhua.

Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria had been drawn together in the so-called Group of Death for 2018 FIFA World Cup after the final draw ceremony held in the concert hall at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow on Friday.

Iceland, the smallest nation with a population of 330,000 people ever play at the World Cup, will play the two-time champions Argentina on June 16 at Spartak Stadium in Moscow.

Hosts Russia will play Saudi Arabia in the opening match of the in June 14,2018. They also will face Egypt and Uruguay.

The 2010 World Cup winners Spain were placed in Group B with Cristiano Ronaldo's European champions Portugal.

Five-time champions Brazil were paired with Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia in Group E, while defending champions Germany will face Mexico, Sweden and South Korea.

The 21st FIFA World Cup will be held from June 14 to July 15 in 2018 in 11 cities in Russia.

"The world coming to Russia next year will find that Russia is a welcoming country, a warm country, that you can celebrate football with the Russian people," FIFA President Gianni Infantino said on the draw ceremony.

"I' m sure that the experience in all the 11 cities will be absolutely amazing for everyone who is coming here next summer," he added.

Following is the draw for 2018 FIFA World Cup: Group A:Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay,  Group B:Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran, Group C:France, Australia, Peru, Denmark, Group D:Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria, Group E:Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia, Group F:Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea, Group G:Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England, Group H:Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan.

Contact Us